Afacan entdecken
close
Good to know


What to bring:
Since it is normally warm or hot in Afacan, you don’t need a lot of clothes. Don’t forget your bathing suit, bath towels, sunscreen (the sun’s rays here are much stronger than in northern Europe) and, if you like, mosquito repellent. You can bring bathing shoes for the sea, as well as a snorkel and diving goggles. Sturdy shoes for hiking and a small backpack for day trips will come in handy. It is often quite windy, and in May and October the nights can get cool.

How to get here:
The closest airport is in Izmir. Flights and transfers from the airport can be booked through Gençtur Berlin (we strongly recommend you use Gençtur if you are traveling with a group). It takes about an hour and a half to get from Izmir Airport to Afacan. There is train service as far as Aliağa, where you can arrange to be picked up or take a bus north until the Afacan turn-off (just past Yenişakran). Busses from Istanbul and other points pass along the coastal road and can drop you off almost on our doorstep.

Arrival:
Upon arrival everyone is given a welcome sheet with the most important information about life in Afacan.

The rooms:
The rooms aren’t particularly large and there is not much storage space, so don’t overpack.

Meals:
Meals are normally served at regular times every day – a bell announces when the midday and evening meals are served so that guests don’t have to keep checking their watches. Your group can also arrange to eat at different times. Our guests are responsible for setting and clearing their own tables, something your group should be aware of before arrival. Please inform us ahead of time if your group includes vegetarians or anyone with allergies or any other special preferences. We can prepare packed lunches for excursions.

Telephone:
There is a phone booth at Afacan’s entrance. Phone cards can be purchased in the office. Calls can also be received here, although it is usually quite difficult to locate the person being called – Afacan is a big place!

Internet:
There is an Internet room and wireless access on the whole site (please check with us first).

Medical:
The closest health center is in Yenişakran (3 km)and the closest hospital is in Aliağa (17 km).

Contact list:
We keep a list of all the groups who come to Afacan. We want to make it possible for our guests to contact each other and share their experiences.
Information material:
Brochures about Afacan as well as a DVD with a short film about our meeting center are available from the Umverteilen! office (stiftung@umverteilen.de). You can also watch the film online here: Discover Afacan Films.

Afacan entdecken
close
Gut zu wissen


Was muss mit:
Da es in Afacan meistens warm oder heiß ist, braucht man nicht viel Bekleidung. Wichtig sind Badesachen, Badehandtücher, Sonnencreme, (die Sonnenstrahlung ist dort viel stärker als in Deutschland), evtl. Mückenschutz. Für das Meer kann man Badeschuhe mitnehmen, auch Schnorchel und Taucherbrille. Feste Schuhe zum Wandern, ein kleiner Rucksack für Tagesausflüge. Es herrscht oft starker Wind. Im Mai oder Oktober sind die Nächte mitunter kühl.

Anreise:
Der nächste Flughafen ist in Izmir. Flüge sowie den Transfer vom Flughafen kann man bei Gençtur Berlin buchen (bei Gruppenreisen unbedingt zu empfehlen!). Die Fahrt vom Flughafen Izmir nach Afacan dauert etwa anderthalb Stunden. Es gibt auch eine Bahn bis Aliağa, dort kann man sich abholen lassen oder mit einem Bus Richtung Norden bis zum Abzweig Afacan (hinter Yenişakran) fahren. Busse fahren von Istanbul und aus anderen Richtungen die Küstenstraße entlang und halten bei Bedarf fast vor unserer Tür.

Ankunft:
Bei der Ankunft bekommen alle einen Willkommenszettel mit den wichtigsten Informationen über das Leben in Afacan.

Zimmer:
Die Zimmer sind nicht besonders groß und es gibt nicht viel Stauraum. Daher sollte man nicht allzu viele Sachen mitnehmen.

Mahlzeiten:
In der Regel wird zu bestimmten Zeiten gegessen – mittags und abends wird mit einer Glocke gerufen, so dass niemand ständig auf die Uhr gucken muss. Es können aber auch besondere Tischzeiten verabredet werden. Für das Tischdecken und –abräumen sind unsere Gäste selber verantwortlich – das sollte die Gruppe vorher wissen. Falls es in der Gruppe Allergiker oder Vegetarier oder besondere Vorlieben gibt, bitte rechtzeitig Bescheid sagen. Für Ausflüge können wir Lunchpakete mitgeben.

Telefon:
Am Eingang von Afacan gibt es eine Telefonzelle. Telefonkarten können im Büro gekauft werden. Angerufen werden kann man auch – allerdings ist es meist sehr schwierig, die gewünschte Person auf dem großen Gelände zu finden.

Internet:
Es gibt einen Internetraum und auf dem ganzen Gelände W-Lan Empfang (nach Absprache).

Arzt:
Das nächste Gesundheitszentrum ist in Yenişakran (3 km), das nächste Krankenhaus in Aliağa (17 km).

Gästeliste:
Wir haben eine Liste aller Gruppen, die bereits in Afacan waren. Wir möchten unseren Gästen ermöglichen, Kontakt miteinander aufzunehmen und Erfahrungen auszutauschen.
Infomaterial:
Im Büro von Umverteilen! (stiftung@umverteilen.de) können ein Faltblatt über Afacan sowie eine DVD mit einem kleinen Film über Afacan angefordert werden. Den Film kann man unter dem Menüpunkt Afacan entdecken Filme auch online anschauen.