Afacan entdecken
close
Discover the area around Afacan


In the immediate vicinity – on the hill behind the tennis courts belonging to the holiday complex – there is an ancient gravesite.

Heading south along the coast will lead you to a fenced-in holiday complex. If you want to continue in this direction, keep outside of the fence and follow the small path above the beach to a paved road that passes by olive groves, vacation houses and a restaurant on the way to Yenişakran (about 6 km). Or, after about one hundred meters, you can turn right onto a small path (somewhat hidden in the bushes) behind the houses that runs parallel to the street along the coast.

About one hundred meters north of Afacan there is a little tea garden with a shop that sells ice cream and other important things. You can sit here and drink tea or watch soccer with the people staying in the vacation homes nearby. You can also shop at the nearby gas station on the coastal road or in Yenişakran (3 km away).

Continuing on along the coast in a northerly direction, past the last house you will come upon a lukewarm sweet-water stream that flows into the sea.

Immediately behind the stream there is a mole, which was constructed in 2011 in order to transport rocks from the nearby quarry by ship to the container port being built at Çandarlı. A street leads from the mole through a tunnel underneath the coastal road to the quarry, which is right below the white peak of Sakar Dağı, our local mountain.

Behind the mole there is a fish farm, which, however, is not exactly a beautiful sight. But there is a quite interesting ruin of what was either a residence or a factory building.

On the other side of the coastal road you can wander through the olive groves on wide country lanes or on an ancient cobbled road. We’ve put together detailed directions for hikes and walks in the area along with some photos in a PDF file (New: April 2012 version). We also set up a Google maps page with points of reference for the suggested hikes.
Always remember to take drinking water with you when you go hiking as it is usually very warm here. There are fountains along the way, but the water does not agree with everyone.

There are a lot of stray dogs in the area. If they become a nuisance, just bend down and grab a rock and they’ll take off immediately.

Afacan entdecken
close
Die nähere Umgebung von Afacan erkunden


Ganz in unserer Nähe - auf dem Hügel hinter dem Tennisplatz des Feriengeländes – gibt es eine antike Grabstätte.

Geht man in südlicher Richtung am Meer entlang, kommt man in die benachbarte Ferienanlage. Will man weiter am Meer entlang gehen, muss man sich außen am Zaun der Anlage halten und einem kleinen Pfad oberhalb des Meeres folgen. Der endet an der asphaltierten Straße, die durch Olivenhaine und Ferienhäuser zu einem Restaurant und dann weiter nach Yenişakran führt (ca. 6 km). Man kann aber auch nach etwa hundert Metern rechts (ein wenig vom Gestrüpp verborgen) auf einen kleinen Pfad abbiegen, der hinter den Häusern parallel zur Straße am Meer entlang führt.

Etwa hundert Meter nördlich von Afacan befindet sich ein kleiner Teegarten mit Laden. Dort kann man Eis und ähnlich wichtige Dinge kaufen, Tee trinken oder Fußball gucken – gemeinsam mit den Bewohnern der Ferienhäuser ringsum. Einkaufen kann man auch bei der nahegelegenen Tankstelle an der Küstenstraße oder in Yenişakran (3 km).

Geht man in nördlicher Richtung weiter am Meer entlang, am letzten Haus vorbei, stößt man zunächst auf einen handwarmen Süßwasserbach, der ins Meer mündet.

Direkt dahinter liegt seit neuestem eine Mole. Sie wurde im Jahr 2011 angelegt, um per Schiff Steine aus dem nahen Steinbruch zum Bau des neuen Containerhafens bei Çandarlı zu transportieren. Von der Mole aus führt eine Straße durch einen Tunnel unter der Küstenstraße hindurch bis zum Steinbruch unterhalb des Sakar Dağı, unserem weißen „Hausberg“.

Hinter der Mole sieht man eine Fischzuchtanlage, was allerdings kein besonders schöner Anblick ist. Doch dort gibt es eine Ruine, die ganz interessant ist, und ein altes Wohn- oder Fabrikgebäude.

Auf der anderen Seite der Küstenstraße kann man auf breiten Wirtschaftswegen oder einer uralten gepflasterten Straße durch die Olivenhaine wandern. Einige Wegbeschreibungen und Fotos haben wir in einem PDF (neue Fassung April 2012) zusammengestellt. Wir haben bei Google maps Orientierungspunkte für die vorgeschlagenen Wanderungen eingetragen.
Da es meist sehr warm ist, sollte auf jeden Fall Trinkwasser mitgenommen werden. Unterwegs gibt es zwar Brunnen, aber nicht jede/r verträgt das Wasser.

Achtung: In der Umgebung laufen viele Hunde herum, die niemandem gehören. Wenn sie einem lästig sind, braucht man sich nur nach einem Stein zu bücken, dann hauen sie ab.